TvT: Method and Practice

Terran v Terran is most people’s favorite match up to watch.  This is because of how diverse this match up is.  Every single unit terrans have works in this match up.

Terran v terran relies heavily on two unique elements: ground control and air control.  Ground control is the more important one however losing air control can be pretty bad for any sort of aggression you may want to do.  Some people like to use point defense drone to take air control.  Some people like to use thors and vikings together

What I do is pretty simple.  In my mind there are two important units in this match up, vikings and tanks.  So when I’m building structures I’ll have in mind cranking out as many of these as possible.

I’ll say right now I don’t like marauders.  Marauders stomp in tanks but get stomped when tanks hit critical mass.  I get marines.  Marines cost minerals, not gas.  This means that when I’m on four gas I can run two factories and a reactored starport to consistently pump out two tanks and two vikings.  Then I fill in with marines.

The marines job is to deflect any marauder pushes and to support vikings in air battles. Nothing fancy, nothing complicated.  I’ll just build a tank line with vikings giving vision and marines just ahead of the tanks to soak marauders and hit vikings, all of these are on the hold position obviously.

The only variation I may do is get a raven for point defense drone.  It’s the cost of two vikings but it pays off fast since it prevents any marauder pushes and any vikings air battles.

Another thing I’ll do is just have one viking patrolling in spots I think they’ll have to pass to do drops.  This way there’s no banshee/drop ship surprises.

It’s also not a bad idea for me to build a couple of drop ships.  They’ll keep my marines alive post stim and I’m also open to do drops too.  Marines are actually pretty sick to drop considering how much faster they destroy SCVs compared to marauders.

Yeah this doesn’t sound dynamic.

But this game is pretty constant pressure.  I’m constantly trying to bait his vikings into engaging mine.  In most games my APM is around 100.  In this match up I sit at 140-150.